stock-illustration-84687155-love-vs-hate     Wayne Dyer, an American self-help advocate, author and lecturer, once said, “Loving people live in a loving world.Hostile people live in a hostile world. Same world.” I find his words to be rather profound because I find myself with a foot in both of these worlds.The first world includes my husband, my family, my friends and my church. It is a place where I am surrounded by love and acceptance. It is a world where I feel like I can reach my fullest potential and make a difference in the lives of others. I never grow tired of living in this world.

The second world is a world of seemingly endless violence. A world of war and retaliation. A world of hate crimes and intolerance. A world of blind ambition, greed and power. A world that seems intent on destroying itself. It is a world that makes me very anxious and worried. I grow tired of living in this world!

The challenge for us, as people of faith, is to make sure we surround ourselves with the first world. We are called to create communities of justice, equality, love and mutual respect that will help to shelter us from the other world. Too often, LGBT Christians feel isolated and vulnerable. It is imperative that we strive to be loving people in a loving world and refuse to become hostile people in a hostile world.

What does your world look like today? What one thing can you do this week to help create a loving community that will shelter you from the hostile world?

Copyright ©2016 by David Eck

