http://www.stushieart.com

The Seventh Word  “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.”

This last word from the cross is difficult for control freaks like me! I like to have a plan. I like to be in change. I’m a terrible backseat driver and prefer to have my hands on the wheel of the car! Perhaps you can identify with me.

But if we listen closely to what Jesus is saying, we hear that we are not in control. It is God who has the plan. It is God who is in charge. We are all backseat drivers and God is at the wheel. It’s hard for us to trust that this is a good thing. It’s hard for us to trust that we are all in God’s capable hands. It’s hard for us to let go of our need to be in control all of the time. But this is the gift God offer us.

It is the gift of resting gently in the arms of the Good Shepherd who promises us that even though we walk through the valley of the shadow of death, green pastures and still waters are straight ahead. It is the gift of knowing we have a Loving Parent who always welcomes us home no matter how lost we get along the way.

Jesus, in his final moments of human life, commended his spirit to God. He let go and trusted that even in death God would not forsake him. God would hold him tight and wrap his soul with a love that’s built to last for all eternity.

Hopefully, we can do the same. Hopefully, we can let go of worry and anxiety and fear and dread. Hopefully, we can take our hands off the steering wheel and place our lives in God’s capable hands. Even a control freak like me is willing to give it a try! I’m not making any promises, but I do know that our lives are much better of in God’s hands rather than our own!

Prayer

King of Glory, Teach us how to take up our crosses and follow you. Help us to be faithful witnesses of your saving grace, forgiveness and mercy. We place our lives and our spirits in your loving hands. We ask this in your name. Amen.

Copyright ©2017 by David Eck

